Legends of Hockey - Pro Classics: World Cup Hockey 1996 Summary
Back to Pro Classics home
Women's Hockey feature - sponsored by Sports Museum of America
1960's 1970's NHL Dynasties Women's Hockey Pro Classics Olympic Winter Games
World Cup Artifact World Cup Hockey 2016 Summary
2016 World Cup puck

World Medal 1 Canada
World Medal 2 Team Europe

Eight teams took to the ice to compete for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey. Group A was comprised of Canada, the Czech Republic, the United States and Team Europe, a team comprised of players from European nations not otherwise represented at the World Cup of Hockey. Group B was made up of Sweden, Russia, Finland and Team North America, a team with players aged 23-and-under from Canada and the United States.

Team Europe were the surprise of Group A during the early part of the tournament. They finished the Group Stage with a 2-1 record and joined the undefeated Canadians in advancing to the knockout stage. It was the young North American team who impressed during Group Stage action in Group B. “The Young Guns” won a pair of games including a dramatic overtime thriller over Sweden, but ultimately it would be Sweden and Russia who advanced to the knockout stage.

The first semi-final game would pit Canada up against Russia. The long-time rivals would battle to a 2-2 tie through the first two periods, but powered by third period goals by Corey Perry and John Tavares, Canada would ultimately prevail. Sidney Crosby led the way with three points while his linemate, Brad Marchant, scored twice.

The second semi-final game would see Team Europe take in Sweden. The teams would exchange goals in both the second and third period and would end regulation locked in a 2-2 tie. Sweden would carry the play for much of the brief overtime period, but it was Tomas Tatar of Team Europe who notched the winner. Jaroslav Halak made 37 saves, backstopping his team to the victory.

The stage was set for a best-of-three series between Team Europe and Canada. Game one saw Canada take an early lead on the strength of goals by Brad Marchant and Steven Stamkos. Tomas Tatar would answer for the European team in the second period, but a goal by Patrice Bergeron in the third put the game out of reach.

It was Team Europe who took the early lead in game two of the series as defenceman, Zdeno Chara, slid one passed Canadian netminder, Carey Price, 6:26 into the first frame. The lead would hold up until late in the third period when Patrice Bergeron tied the game for Canada on the power play with just 2:53 remaining. With overtime looming, Brad Marchant scored the game-winning goal for Canada, with just 43 seconds to play.  The win was Canada’s second consecutive World Cup of Hockey title having won the tournament when it was previously played back in 2004.

With three goals and seven assists, Canada’s Sidney Crosby was named tournament MVP. He joined Bobby Orr and Wayne Gretzky as the only players ever to win the Hart Trophy, the Conn Smythe Trophy, and MVP at the Canada Cup or World Cup of Hockey.

Country Games Wins Losses OT Losses Points
Canada 6 6 0 0 12
Europe 6 4 2 0 8
Sweden 4 2 0 2 4
Russia 4 2 2 0 4
North America 3 2 1 0 4
Czech Republic 3 1 1 1 3
United States 3 0 3 0 0
Finland 3 0 3 0 0
World Cup trophy
World Cup Chronology
Statistical Leaders
Back to Pro Classics