

HOCKEY HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES NEW CHAIR OF THE BOARD

Honoured Member Lanny McDonald to assume Chair position on July 1, 2015

TORONTO (March 25, 2015) – Jim Gregory, Vice-Chair of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that one of hockey's most renowned team leaders, Lanny McDonald, will become the next Chair of the Board effective July 1, 2015. This appointment to fill the vacancy left by the untimely passing of Pat Quinn on November 23, 2014, was confirmed at the Board of Directors meeting held this morning in Toronto with the effective date to occur following McDonald's final meeting as a member of the Selection Committee in June.

Drafted fourth overall in 1973, McDonald enjoyed sixteen prolific seasons with the Toronto Maple Leafs, Colorado Rockies and Calgary Flames, retiring as a champion on the heels of the Flames' Stanley Cup victory in 1989. He remained with the Flames in a management capacity for several years and he also became involved with Hockey Canada contributing to Team Canada's 2001 World Championship entry and the 2002 gold medal-winning Olympic squad. Together with family business ventures in craft brewing and real estate development, McDonald has proudly supported many charities, in particular, through his long-time association with Special Olympics beginning in his NHL rookie season.

"As a perennial supporter since his induction in 1992 and a member of the Selection Committee for the past nine years, Lanny is familiar with the affairs of the Hockey Hall of Fame just as the hockey world remembers his achievements during his outstanding playing career," said Gregory. "While Lanny is highly recognized as an exceptional hockey player, he is also a dedicated family man, community benefactor, philanthropist and successful businessman whose leadership qualities will be a valuable asset to the Hall and its continued growth and development."

"I am thrilled and honoured for this opportunity to contribute at the Board level in support of the best sports hall of fame and museum in the world," said McDonald. "The Hockey Hall of Fame is a very special place to me, as it is to hockey fans of all ages, and having served on the Selection Committee under the stewardship of Jim Gregory, Bill Hay, Pat Quinn and John Davidson, I appreciate the tremendous effort that goes into this institution celebrated for honouring excellence in the game of hockey."

In other matters, Mr. Gregory confirmed that:

- Scotty Bowman, David Branch, Brian Burke, Marc de Foy, Mike Gartner and Anders Hedberg were re-appointed each to a further term on the Selection Committee for the 2015, 2016 and 2017 selection proceedings;
- the annual elections meeting of the Selection Committee will be held in Toronto on June 28 & 29, 2015 (with the announcement of the 2015 inductees on June 29th);
- the Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 9, 2015; and
- the general voting Members ratified new <u>By-law Nos. 25</u> and <u>26</u> which, among other amendments, provide for improved voting procedures applicable to all categories of Honoured Membership (visit HHOF.com for full transcripts).

Hockey Hall of Fame ("HHOF") was established in 1943 to honour and memorialize individuals who have brought special distinction to the game of hockey and those who made outstanding contributions to the development and advancement of hockey anywhere in the world, and to collect, research, preserve, exhibit and promote objects, images and other historical materials connected with the game at all levels. Incorporated under the *Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act* and a registered charity under the *Income Tax Act* (Canada), HHOF owns and operates a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art exhibits, multimedia presentations and educational programming from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, Ontario.

CONTACT: Hockey Hall of Fame

Kelly Masse (416) 933-8212 kmasse@hhof.com

Twitter: @kellyhockeyhall



BOARD OF DIRECTORS of HOCKEY HALL OF FAME AND MUSEUM (as elected March 25, 2015)

Nominated by:

Lanny McDonald, Chair (1) Corporate Governance Committee

Jim Gregory, Vice-Chair National Hockey League

Murray Costello Corporate Governance Committee

William L. Daly National Hockey League

Ron DeGregorio USA Hockey, Inc.

René Fasel International Ice Hockey Federation

Donald M. Fehr National Hockey League Players' Association

Rob Ford City of Toronto Mark Grimes City of Toronto

Douglas Holyday (2) Corporate Governance Committee

Stephen Holyday City of Toronto

Stewart Johnston Corporate Governance Committee

Pat LaFontaine National Hockey League Geoff Molson National Hockey League

Ian Morrison Corporate Governance Committee

Cam Neely National Hockey League

Bob Nicholson Hockey Canada

Glen Sather National Hockey League
Larry Tanenbaum National Hockey League

HOCKEY HALL OF FAME SELECTION COMMITTEE

(as appointed March 25, 2015)

John Davidson, *Chair*Jim Gregory, *Chair Emeritus*Dublin, Ohio
Toronto, Ontario

Scotty Bowman East Amherst, New York

David BranchToronto, OntarioBrian BurkeCalgary, AlbertaColin CampbellToronto, Ontario

Bob Clarke Ocean City, New Jersey
Marc de Foy Longueuil, Quebec
Eric Duhatschek Calgary, Alberta
Mike Emrick Port Huron, Michigan
Michael Farber Verdun, Quebec

Mike Gartner Richmond Hill, Ontario Anders Hedberg Stockholm, Sweden

Igor Larionov Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Lanny McDonald (2) Calgary, Alberta
David Poile Nashville, Tennessee
Luc Robitaille Santa Monica, California
Peter Stastny St. Louis, Missouri

Bill Torrey West Palm Beach, Florida