

HOCKEY HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES NEW APPOINTMENTS TO THE SELECTION COMMITTEE

John Davidson named Chairman of the Selection Committee, effective April 1, 2014

TORONTO (March 26, 2014) – **Pat Quinn**, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that Columbus Blue Jackets President of Hockey Operations and recipient of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award (2009), **John Davidson**, has been appointed to succeed **Jim Gregory** (*HHOF Class of 2007*) as Chairman of the Selection Committee, effective April 1, 2014. Davidson's extended term appointment was confirmed along with three new members of the Selection Committee at the Directors' meeting held earlier today in Toronto.

Philadelphia Flyers Senior Vice-President, **Bob Clarke** (*HHOF Class of 1987*), Nashville Predators President of Hockey Operations and General Manager, **David Poile**, and Los Angeles Kings President of Business Operations, **Luc Robitaille** (*HHOF Class of 2009*), will join the Selection Committee replacing Quinn (who stepped down last July to become Chairman of the Board), Gregory and **Serge Savard** (*HHOF Class of 1986*), the latter two having reached the stipulated limit for length of service.

"John has been a dedicated member of the Selection Committee since 1999 and the Board's appointment to the Chairman's role recognizes his expertise and long-time contribution to the game as a player, media representative and hockey executive along with the fact that he is still very active in the game," said Quinn. "I am also very pleased to welcome Bob, David and Luc, all three accomplished and knowledgeable hockey people, with the utmost confidence that the Selection Committee will continue its integral work honouring excellence in the game of hockey."

After serving twenty-one years on the Selection Committee, including seventeen as Chairman, Gregory will continue to lend his vast knowledge and support in a non-voting capacity as Chairman Emeritus, while Savard's tenure expires with twenty years of distinguished service.

"The Hockey Hall of Fame owes Jim and Serge a debt of gratitude for their outstanding contributions to the Selection Committee", said Quinn. "Having the privilege of serving on the Committee with these gentlemen for the past fifteen years, I have the highest regard for Jim's integrity and leadership, and for the consistently candid and intelligent perspective that Serge has brought to the deliberations in all categories of Honoured Membership."

In other corporate matters, **Cam Neely** (*HHOF Class of 2005*) was elected as a new member of the Board of Directors in replacement of **Bob Gainey** (*HHOF Class of 1992*) who served for ten years as one of seven NHL nominees, and **Colin Campbell** and **Igor Larionov** (*HHOF Class of 2008*) were re-appointed to the Selection Committee each for a further three-year term expiring March 31, 2017.

The Selection Committee will meet on June 23 & 24, 2014 to consider duly nominated candidates for election into Honoured Membership. The announcement of the new inductees will be made on June 24th and the 2014 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 10th.

The Hockey Hall of Fame ("HHOF") was established in 1943 to honour and memorialize individuals who have brought special distinction to the game of hockey and those who made outstanding contributions to the development and advancement of hockey anywhere in the world, and to collect, research, preserve, exhibit and promote objects, images and other historical materials connected with the game at all levels. As a not-for-profit corporation and registered charity, HHOF owns and operates a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art exhibits, multimedia presentations and educational programming from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, Canada.

CONTACT: Hockey Hall of Fame

Kelly Masse (416) 933-8212 kmasse@hhof.com



BOARD OF DIRECTORS of HOCKEY HALL OF FAME AND MUSEUM (as elected March 26, 2014)

Nominated by:

Pat Quinn, Chairman Corporate Governance Committee

Jim Gregory, Vice-Chairman National Hockey League

Rick Brace Corporate Governance Committee

Shelley Carroll City of Toronto

Murray Costello Corporate Governance Committee

William L. Daly National Hockey League

Ron DeGregorio USA Hockey

René Fasel International Ice Hockey Federation
Donald M. Fehr Corporate Governance Committee

Mark Grimes City of Toronto Douglas Holyday City of Toronto

Pat LaFontaine National Hockey League Geoff Molson National Hockey League

Ian Morrison Corporate Governance Committee

Cam Neely National Hockey League

Bob Nicholson Hockey Canada

Glen Sather National Hockey League
Larry Tanenbaum National Hockey League

HOCKEY HALL OF FAME SELECTION COMMITTEE (as appointed March 26, 2014)

John Davidson, ChairmanDublin, OhioJim Gregory, Chairman EmeritusToronto, Ontario

Scotty Bowman East Amherst, New York

David Branch Toronto, Ontario
Brian Burke Calgary, Alberta
Colin Campbell Toronto, Ontario

Bob Clarke Ocean City, New Jersey
Marc de Foy Longueuil, Quebec
Eric Duhatschek Calgary, Alberta
Mike Emrick Port Huron, Michigan
Michael Farber Verdun, Quebec

Mike Gartner Richmond Hill, Ontario

Anders Hedberg Stockholm, Sweden
Igor Larionov Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Lanny McDonald Calgary, Alberta
David Poile Nashville, Tennessee
Luc Robitaille Santa Monica, California

Peter Stastny St. Louis, Missouri

Bill Torrey West Palm Beach, Florida