

# HOCKEY HALL OF FAME KICKS OFF SUMMER WITH TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS CENTENNIAL EXHIBIT

## Limited-time exhibit features tributes honouring 100 seasons of the Toronto Maple Leaf franchise through elaborate showcases and dynamic multimedia displays

TORONTO (July 7, 2016) – With 67 Players and 12 Builders, Toronto's franchise in the NHL boasts the most Honoured Members inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Beginning in 1917 as the Arenas, becoming the St. Patricks in 1922 and then the Maple Leafs in 1927, the Toronto Maple Leaf Centennial exhibit pays homage to those that have worn the blue and white as well as some highlights of the most iconic moments in franchise history.

Featured items in the exhibit include Bill Barilko's 1951 Stanley Cup winning overtime stick and puck used to score his last goal, skates worn by Johnny Bower circa 1960, the million dollar cheque from the Chicago Black Hawks for Frank Mahovlich, dated October 6, 1962 (that went uncashed), George Armstrong's sweater from the 1967 Stanley Cup championship, Mats Sundin's jersey from the final game played at Maple Leaf Gardens and much more spanning from Conn Smythe to current day. The exhibit celebrates those that helped make Smythe's ambitions a reality, while reflecting on moments of wonder and heartache that shaped the club, its fans and the city it calls home.

"When Toronto's NHL franchise took to the ice at Arena Gardens in late 1917, no one could have imagined this would become one of hockey's most storied and recognized teams" said Ron Ellis of the Hockey Hall of Fame, and former Toronto Maple Leaf from 1964-1980. "The Toronto Maple Leafs Centennial exhibit showcases how the franchise has remained iconic through the last century, with names like Bower, Sittler, Gilmour, Sundin and so many more who have inspired generations of fans as Leafs Nation faithful."

In further recognition of the Centennial celebrations, the annual Haggar Hockey Hall of Fame Legends Classic will feature Leaf great, Borje Salming (HHOF 1996) leading a team of Toronto Maple Leaf legends against a line-up of NHL superstars captained by Eric Lindros (HHOF 2016). The game will be played on Sunday, November 13, 2016, 3:00 PM at the Air Canada Centre, Toronto. Tickets go on sale July 14, 2016.

The 2016 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 14<sup>th</sup> at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto. For more information regarding the 2016 Induction Weekend/Celebration, visit <u>http://www.hhof.com</u>.

### About the Hockey Hall of Fame

Established in 1943, the Hockey Hall of Fame's ("HHOF") mandate is to recognize and honour the achievements of players, builders and officials who bring special distinction to the game of hockey, and to collect, preserve, research and exhibit objects, images and resource materials connected with the game as it is played in Canada and throughout the world. As a non-profit corporation and a registered charity under the *Income Tax Act*, HHOF owns and operates a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art exhibits, multimedia presentations and educational programming from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, Canada.

-30-

#### **Contact:**

Kelly Masse Hockey Hall of Fame (416) 933-8212 kmasse@hhof.com Twitter:@kellyhockeyhall

#### PLAYER CATEGORY First Name Last Name Years with the Leafs Year Inducted Jack Adams 1917-19 (Arenas), 1922-26 (St. Pats) 1959 1991-94 2008 Glen Anderson Syl 1936-43, 1945-48 1961 Apps George Armstrong 1949-71 1975 Bailey 1926-34 1978 Ace Andy Bathgate 1963-65 1978 Ed Belfour 2002-06 2011 Max Bentlev 1947-53 1966 Boivin 1951-54 1986 Léo Bower 1958-70 1976 Johnny Turk Broda 1936-43, 1945-52 1967 1919-23 (St. Pats) 1962 Harry Cameron Gerry 1961-62 1985 Cheevers King Clancy 1930-37 1958 Cleghorn 1920-21 (St. Pats) 1958 Sprague 1929-38 1961 Charlie Conacher Rusty Crawford 1917-19 (Arenas) 1962 1924-37 Hap Dav 1961 Drillon 1936-42 1975 Gord \*Ken Dryden 1997-2004 [as President] 1983 Dick Duff 1954-64 2006 Dve 1919-26 (St. Pats), 1930-31 1970 Babe 1990 Fern Flaman 1950-54 Ron Francis 2003-04 2007 1991-93 Grant Fuhr 2003 1993-96 2001 Mike Gartner 1921-22 (St. Pats) Eddie Gerard 1945 1991-97, 2003 Doug Gilmour 2011 Hainsworth 1933-37 1961 George Harry Holmes 1917-19 (Arenas) 1972 Red Horner 1928-40 1965 1949-70 1977 Tim Horton Phil Housley 2002-03 2015 Syd Howe 1931-32 1965 \*Dick 1930-40 [Coach] Irvin Sr. 1958 Jackson 1929-39 1971 Harvey Red Kelly 1960-67 1969

### TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS HONOURED MEMBERS

Ted	Kennedy	1942-57	1966
Dave	Keon	1960-75	1986
Brian	Leetch	2003-04	2009
Harry	Lumley	1952-56	1980
Frank	Mahovlich	1956-68	1981
Lanny	McDonald	1973-79	1992
Dickie	Moore	1964-65	1974
Larry	Murphy	1995-97	2004
Joe	Nieuwendyk	2003-04	2011
Frank	Neighbor	1929-30	1947
Reg	Noble	1917-19 (Arenas), 1919-25 (St. Pats)	1962
Bert	Olmstead	1958-62	1985
Bernie	Parent	1970-72	1984
Pierre	Pilote	1968-69	1975

Jacques	Plante	1970-73	1978
Bud	Poile	1942-47	1990
Babe	Pratt	1942-46	1966
Joe	Primeau	1927-36	1963
Marcel	Pronovost	1965-70	1991
Bob	Pulford	1956-70	1991
Borje	Salming	1973-89	1996
Terry	Sawchuk	1964-67	1971
Sweeney	Schriner	1939-43, 1944-46	1962
*Brendan	Shanahan	2014-Present [as President]	2013
Darryl	Sittler	1970-82	1989
Allan	Stanley	1958-68	1981
Mats	Sundin	1994-2008	2012
Norm	Ullman	1968-75	1982
Carl	Voss	1926-27 (St. Pats), 1928-29	1973
Harry	Watson	1946-55	1994
	]	BUILDER CATEGORY	
<u>First Name</u>	Last Name	Years With the Leafs	Year Inducted
*A1	Arbour	1961-64, 1965-66 [as player]	1996
Harold	Ballard	1961-91	1977
J.P.	Bickell	1927-51	1978
Pat	Burns	1992-96	2014
Cliff	Fletcher	1991-97, 2008	2004
Jim	Gregory	1969-79	2007
Punch	Imlach	1958-69, 1979-81	1984
*Frank	Mathers	1948-50, 1951-52 [as player]	1992
Roger	Neilson	1977-79	2002
Frank J.	Selke	1927-46	1960
Conn	Smythe	1927-61	1958
*Lou	Lamoriello	2015-Present	2009
	*Indicates an individu	al who were Inducted for contributions outside of Toronto	