

2024 HOCKEY HALL OF FAME NHL MEDIA AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

TORONTO (May 31, 2024) – Frank Seravalli, President of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters' Association, announced today that **Scott Burnside** will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism, and **Pierre Houde** will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Scott Burnside covered his first NHL playoff series in 1997. A former news reporter, he had recently been named sports columnist at the Windsor Star and began documenting the Detroit Red Wings first Stanley Cup since 1955. The experience launched a long and successful hockey writing career, including stops with several teams, the National Post, the Athletic, and 13 years as Senior NHL Writer at ESPN.com.

"For more than two decades, Scott Burnside has been an agenda-setter in the hockey world," said Seravalli. "His work is appointment reading. Burnside is a true big 'J' hockey journalist, someone who built relationships to take readers behind the scenes, someone who is unafraid to ruffle feathers by reporting on difficult topics or to offer a cutting opinion. Most importantly, he always remained true to himself, and gave back by mentoring countless young hockey writers along the way."

Known as the voice of the Montreal Canadiens, Pierre Houde has been the team's French language TV play-by-play announcer on RDS since 1989. Born in Ville St-Laurent, Houde began his career as a weekend radio DJ at the age of 18. In the last 35 years, he called close to 3,500 games including World Championships, Junior, Spengler Cup and as many as 12 Stanley Cup finals. Over the past 40 years the three-time Gemini award winner has also described the action from 13 Olympics and hundreds of Formula 1 races.

"For over three decades, Pierre has brought francophone hockey fans all over Canada exciting and entertaining play-by-play of our great game with class and distinction," said Kaiton. "He is extremely worthy of being the 2024 Foster Hewitt Memorial Award recipient."

Burnside and Houde will receive their awards at the "Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards Luncheon" in Toronto on Monday, November 11, 2024, and their award plaques will be displayed in the Esso Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame alongside past award recipients.

Recipients of these awards, as selected by their respective associations, are recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame as "Media Honourees" – a separate distinction from individuals inducted as "Honoured Members." Honoured Members are selected by the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The 2024 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend begins on Friday, November 8, 2024, culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 11, 2024. This year's inductees will be announced live on TSN on **Tuesday**, **June 25**, 2024.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the **Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Named in honour of the late "Voice of Hockey" in Canada, the **Foster Hewitt Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.

For more information:

Frank Seravalli Professional Hockey Writers' Association Frank.seravalli@gmail.com

Chuck Kaiton NHL Broadcasters' Association <u>Chuckkaiton3@gmail.com</u>