

2017 HOCKEY HALL OF FAME NHL MEDIA AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

TORONTO (April 17, 2017) - Scott Burnside, President of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters' Association, announced today that **Cam Cole** will receive the Elmer Ferguson Award for excellence in hockey journalism, and **Dave Strader** will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Cole's 41-year career began after he left Vegreville, Alberta to attend the University of Alberta, where he worked for the college newspaper, the Gateway. He began covering high school sports, soccer and the AJHL for the Edmonton Journal putting him in place to chronicle the Edmonton Oilers' dynasty years as the paper's general sports columnist. Cole also worked in Toronto for the National Post and in Vancouver for the Vancouver Sun, where his distinct, smart and authoritative voice brought a sane perspective to the sometimes crazy world of sport. He retired in 2016 after a distinguished career that included coverage of more than 30 Stanley Cup finals and 16 Olympic Games.

"For 20 years I have had the pleasure of calling Cam Cole co-worker, colleague and best of all a friend and couldn't imagine a more worthy recipient of the 2017 Elmer Ferguson Award," said Burnside. "Cam's elegant and thoughtful prose has long been savored by fans of all sports but at the heart of it Cam's always been a hockey guy chronicling the rise of the Edmonton Oilers in the 1980s and sharing his unique perspective on the sport covering 30 Stanley Cup finals. Blessed with a wry wit and a graceful way of conveying even the most pointed criticism Cam is widely regarded as one of the greatest Canadian sports writers of all time. You'll get no argument from this quarter."

Dave Strader, a native of Glens Falls, New York, earned a degree in communications from the University of Massachusetts -Amherst. His career began in 1979 with the AHL Adirondack Red Wings. In 1985, Strader was brought to Detroit to broadcast Red Wing games until 1996. He then moved to national prominence when he was hired as one of the primary hockey voices at ESPN. He then went on to work at ABC and through the 2014-2015 for NBC as a play-by-play man at the 2006 Torino and 2014 Sochi Olympic

games, as well as for the Florida Panthers, Arizona Coyotes and most recently the Dallas Stars.

"Dave is extremely worthy of this distinction as his body of work, both locally and nationally, has thrilled millions of hockey fans all around North America and Europe," said Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHLBA. "He is a very deserving winner of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award, and the NHL Broadcasters' Association is proud to have him represent us."

Cole and Strader will receive their awards at the "Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards Luncheon" in Toronto on Monday, November 13, 2017, and their award plaques will be displayed in the Esso Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame alongside past award recipients.

Recipients of these awards, as selected by their respective associations, are recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame as "Media Honourees" – a separate distinction from individuals inducted as "Honoured Members" who are elected by the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The 2017 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend begins on Friday, November 10, 2017, culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 13, 2017. This year's inductees will be announced on **Monday**, **June 26**, **2017**.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the **Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Named in honour of the late "Voice of Hockey" in Canada, the **Foster Hewitt Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.

For more information:

Scott Burnside Professional Hockey Writers' Association scottdburnside@gmail.com

Chuck Kaiton NHL Broadcasters' Association chuckk@carolinahurricanes.com